The Duluth Poet Laureate Project was founded in 2005 as a way of honoring local poets and encouraging the appreciation of poetry. There have been five poets laureate previously selected over the years including Bart Sutter, Sheila Packa, Deborah Cooper, and Jim Johnson (twice).

The Poet Laureate Project is co-sponsored by Friends of the Duluth Public Library, Lake Superior Writers, Arrowhead Reading Council, Minnesota Public Radio, Zeitgeist Arts Cafe, the English departments at UMD and CSS, and Lake Superior College. A 12-person committee oversees the work of the Duluth Poet Laureate Project.

For additional information, contact Jim Perlman, chair of the Duluth Poet Laureate Project, at (218) 724-1653.